Open Association

Dedicated to promoting the American Quarter Horse in Oklahoma through sharing information, events and activities for the amateur, youth and professional horsemen.

 State Year End Standings – updated 8/14/17

 

If you have a current AQHA or AQHYA membership, you are eligible to show your American Quarter Horse in open competition. Open competition is usually for the most experienced exhibitors, trainers and professional horsemen but many amateur and youth members can be tough competitors as well.

Open classes can also be divided according to the age of the horse.

    • 2-year-olds

 

    • Junior horses (5 years of age and under)

 

    • Senior horses (6 years of age and older)

How It Works

Within the open division are levels: Rookie, Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. These are based on the horse’s achievements.

For open division halter and cattle events, classes are leveled by the exhibitor’s record. Those levels are: Rookie, Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3.

To learn more about these levels, determine your specific level and find out how the levels group horses and riders with similar skill and experience levels for competition, visit www.aqha.com/leveling.

Eligibility

If you are a paid professional and you are ready for a higher level of competition, then the AQHA open division is for you!

OQHA Membership Application

2017 OQHA Membership Application

Officers

President

Rebecca Halvorson

halvorsonranch@gmail.com

President-Elect

Dolly Chayer

dollychayer@sbcglobal.net

1st Vice-President

Larry Sanchez

 larry.sanchez@okstate.edu 

2nd Vice President

 Stacey Roberson

staceydiamr@gmail.com

Executive Board

Immediate Past President

Jimmy Seago

jseago.orwa@gmail.com

Elected Member

Luke Castle

castle5554@aol.com

Elected Member

Alice Holmes

awh1052@aol.com

Elected Member

Dr. Calvin White

adavetclinicok@yahoo.com

Board of Directors

Leigh Berryhill
bhillqh@aol.com

Leonard Berryhill
bhillqh@aol.com

Jack Bogart
jpbogart@atlasok.com

Nova Boyd
novagboyd@aol.com

Mike Fester
mikefester@msn.com

Jan Kimball
janlkimball@gmail.com

Gary Moore
garylmoore4@aol.com

Russell Mueller
rmueller.pn@gmail.com

Karen Ogle
karenogle4@aol.com

Monica Parduhn
parduhn@coxinet.net

Faith Pinkerton
info@5starquarterhorses.com

Vicki Tebow
vtebow@andreini.com

Heather Van Hooser
hvanhooser@mabreybank.com

Betty Wells
bwells3035@yahoo.com

Emeritus Directors

Dave Auberle
david.auberle@enablemidstream.com

Darrell Bilke
dbilke@pinto.org

Sharon Breeding
sbreeding@cox.net

Jerry Burd
jerry.burd@peakuptime.com

Glen Cantrell
cantrellranch@brightok.net

Rick Chayer
dollychayer@sbcglobal.net

Chad Cherry
reddirtconstruct@sbcglobal.net

Cindy Chilton-Moore
ropinghorse@aol.com

Rodger Coday
codayent@tulsacoxmail.com

 Todd Colburn
todd.colburn@icloud.com

Gil Galyean
gbgalyean@hotmail.com

Ellis Gragg
egragg1@mac.com

Wayne Halvorson
halvorsonranch@cox.net

Alice Holmes
awh1052@aol.com

Keith Ketner
kketner@aol.com

Jackie Krshka
jkrshka@gmail.com

Robert Rezner
rezner@reznertrailers.com

Don Ed Roberts

Jeff Terstra
milliront@cox.net

Carolyn Stewart
rockingmqh@yahoo.comt

Dr. Calvin White
adavetclinic@yahoo.com

2017 Standing Committees

Affiliate: Chair: Milli Kliewer; Dolly Chayer
Amateur: Chair: Karen Ogle; Alice Holmes, Gary Moore, Russell Mueller
Budget & Finance: Chair: Rebecca Halvorson; Leigh Berryhill, Todd Colburn, Jackie Krshka
Building: Chair: Todd Colburn; Chad Cherry, Larry Sanchez
Constitution & By-Laws: Chair: Cindy Chilton-Moore; Nova Boyd, Wayne Halvorson, Dr. Calvin White
Convention: Chair: Vicki Tebow; Betty Wells
Hall of Fame: Chair: Cindy Chilton-Moore & Vicki Tebow; Nova Boyd, Wayne Halvorson, Betty Wells
Media Services: Chair: Leigh Berryhill; Emily Konkel, Faith Pinkerton 
Membership: Chair: Dolly Chayer; Rebecca Halvorson, Jan Kimball, Russell Mueller
OSU: Chair: Larry Sanchez
Public Policy: Chair: Dr. Calvin White; Cindy Chilton-Moore
Recreational Riding: Chair: Sharon Breeding; Jack Bogart, Rick Chayer, Sheila Colburn, Renee Leggett, Gary Moore, Jeff Terpstra
Region 8: Chair: Alice Holmes; Cindy Chilton-Moore, Jackie Krshka
State Championships: Chair: Karen Ogle; Dolly Chayer, Jan Kimball, Stacey Roberson
Youth: Chair: Vicki Tebow; Sharon Breeding, Chad Cherry, Milli Kliewer, Stacey Roberson, Amy Seago 

 

AD HOC COMMITTEES

 

Horse Show Assessment: Chair: Jackie Krshka; Leonard Berryhill, Luke Castle, Rick Chayer, Chad Cherry, Todd Colburn, Russell Mueller, Stacey Roberson, Jimmy Seago, Jeff Terpstra

 

 

Constitution & By-Laws and OQHA State Rules

Member Note:  For year end prizes if you are winning more than one level, you are only eligible to win one buckle within the same class.  Example:  If you are leading the Sr Western Pleasure Level 3 you would not be eligible to win both the Sr Western Pleasure Level 2 and 3.  The buckle would go to the next in line.

 

Oklahoma Quarter Horse Association

5506 N Rockwell Avenue – Bethany, OK 73008
Tel: 405.440.0694 | Fax: 405.440.0649 
okqha@sbcglobal.net

REGULAR OFFICE HOURS
MONDAY – FRIDAY
9:00AM – 12:00PM/1:00PM – 5:00PM