Open Association

Dedicated to promoting the American Quarter Horse in Oklahoma through sharing information, events and activities for the amateur, youth and professional horsemen.


If you have a current AQHA or AQHYA membership, you are eligible to show your American Quarter Horse in open competition. Open competition is usually for the most experienced exhibitors, trainers and professional horsemen but many amateur and youth members can be tough competitors as well.

Open classes can also be divided according to the age of the horse.

    • 2-year-olds


    • Junior horses (5 years of age and under)


    • Senior horses (6 years of age and older)

How It Works

Within the open division are levels: Rookie, Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. These are based on the horse’s achievements.

For open division halter and cattle events, classes are leveled by the exhibitor’s record. Those levels are: Rookie, Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3.

To learn more about these levels, determine your specific level and find out how the levels group horses and riders with similar skill and experience levels for competition, visit


If you are a paid professional and you are ready for a higher level of competition, then the AQHA open division is for you!

OQHA Membership Application

2017 OQHA Membership Application



Rebecca Halvorson


Dolly Chayer

1st Vice-President

Larry Sanchez 

2nd Vice President

 Stacey Roberson

Executive Board

Immediate Past President

Jimmy Seago

Elected Member

Luke Castle

Elected Member

Alice Holmes

Elected Member

Dr. Calvin White

Board of Directors

Leigh Berryhill

Leonard Berryhill

Jack Bogart

Nova Boyd

Mike Fester

Jan Kimball

Gary Moore

Russell Mueller

Karen Ogle

Monica Parduhn

Faith Pinkerton

Vicki Tebow

Heather Van Hooser

Director Emeritus

Betty Wells – Director Emeritus

Directors At Large

Dave Auberle

Darrell Bilke

Sharon Breeding

Jerry Burd

Glen Cantrell

Rick Chayer

Chad Cherry

Cindy Chilton-Moore

Rodger Coday

 Todd Colburn

Gil Galyean

Wayne Halvorson

Alice Holmes

Keith Ketner

Jackie Krshka

Robert Rezner

Don Ed Roberts

Jeff Terstra

Carolyn Stewart

Dr. Calvin White

2017 Standing Committees

Affiliate: Chair: Larry Sanchez; Stacey Roberson
Amateur: Chair: Jan Kimball; Alice Holmes, Gary Moore, Russell Mueller
Budget & Finance: Chair: Stacey Roberson; Leigh Berryhill, Jackie Krshka, Monica Pardhun
Building: Chair: Chad Cherry; Leonard Berryhill, Don Ed Roberts, Larry Sanchez
Constitution & By-Laws: Chair: Cindy Chilton-Moore; Nova Boyd, Wayne Halvorson, Dr. Calvin White, Betty Wells
Convention: Chair: Vicki Tebow; Betty Wells, Sharon Breeding, Nova Boyd
Hall of Fame: Chair: Cindy Chilton-Moore & Vicki Tebow; Nova Boyd, Wayne Halvorson, Betty Wells, Sharon Breeding
Media Services: Chair: Leigh Berryhill;  Faith Pinkerton 
Membership: Chair: Dolly Chayer; Jan Kimball, Russell Mueller
OSU: Chair: Larry Sanchez
Public Policy: Chair: Dr. Calvin White; Cindy Chilton-Moore, Jimmy Seago
Recreational Riding: Chair: Sharon Breeding; Jack Bogart, Sheila Colburn, Jimmy Seago, Jeff Terpstra
Region 8: Chair: Alice Holmes; Cindy Chilton-Moore, Jackie Krshka
State Championships: Chair: Karen Ogle; Dolly Chayer, Jan Kimball, Stacey Roberson, Monica Parduhn, Sharon Breeding
Youth: Chair: Monica Parduhn; Stacey Roberson, Heather Keller, Cindy Garrison, Tammy Walter, Victoria Corbin, Teana Nyoo, Meredith Copeland, Cindy Chilton-Moore




Horse Show Assessment: Chair: Jackie Krshka; Leonard Berryhill, Luke Castle, Rick Chayer, Chad Cherry, Russell Mueller, Stacey Roberson, Jeff Terpstra, Mike Fester, Rebecca Halvorson



Constitution & By-Laws and OQHA State Rules

Member Note:  For year end prizes if you are winning more than one level, you are only eligible to win one buckle within the same class.  Example:  If you are leading the Sr Western Pleasure Level 3 you would not be eligible to win both the Sr Western Pleasure Level 2 and 3.  The buckle would go to the next in line.


Oklahoma Quarter Horse Association

5506 N Rockwell Avenue – Bethany, OK 73008
Tel: 405.440.0694 | Fax: 405.440.0649

9:00AM – 12:00PM/1:00PM – 5:00PM