Open Division

If you have a current AQHA or AQHYA membership, you are eligible to show your American Quarter Horse in open competition. Open competition is usually for the most experienced exhibitors, trainers and professional horsemen but many amateur and youth members can be tough competitors as well.

Open Division Levels

Levels include Rookie, Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. These are based on the horse’s achievements. For open division halter and cattle events, classes are leveled by the exhibitor’s record. Those levels are: Rookie, Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. To learn more about these levels, determine your specific level and find out how the levels group horses and riders with similar skill and experience levels for competition, visit


If you are a paid professional and you are ready for a higher level of competition, then the AQHA open division is for you!

Open Division Rules

OQHA Bylaws

OQHA State Championship Rules


President – Leonard Berryhill
President Elect – Russell Mueller
1st Vice President – Tim Lindsey
2nd Vice President – Jake Walker
Immediate Past President – Stacey Roberson
Elected Member – Luke Castle
Elected Member – Rick Chayer
Elected Member – Rebecca Halvorson


Affiliate – Chair, Tim Lindsey

Amateur – Chair, Karen Torrice– Monica Parduhn, Alice Holmes

Budget & Finance – Chair, Jake Walker – Jeff Allen, Monica Parduhn, Heather Van Hooser

Building – Chair, Tim Lindsey – Larry Sanchez

Constitution & Bylaws – Chair, Cindy Chilton-Moore –Russell Mueller, Kirt Wingate, Dave Auberle

Convention – Chair, Vicki Tebow – Cindy Chilton-Moore

Hall of Fame – Chair, Cindy Chilton-Moore – Vicki Tebow, Betty Wells, Nova Boyd, Dr. Bob Story, Larry Sanchez, Darrell Bilke

Media Services – Chair, Rebecca Halvorson – Bobbie Jo Stanton, Monica Parduhn

Membership – Chair, Russell Mueller – Dr. Bob Story

OSU – Chair, Larry Sanchez – Stacey Roberson

Public Policy – Chair, Jimmy Seago – Dr. Calvin White

Recreational Riding – Chair, Jake Walker – Sharon Breeding, jack Bogart, Jimmy Seago, Kirt Wingate

State Championship – Chair, Leigh Berryhill – Dolly Chayer, Jackie Krshka

Youth – Chair, Rebecca Halvorson – Mike & Heather Keller, Bobbie Jo Stanton, Russell & Lara Mueller

Ad Hoc Committee

Horse Show Assessment – Chair, Jackie Krshka – Leigh Berryhill, Luke Castle, Rick Chayer, Monte Freeman, Russell Mueller, Dr. Bob Story, Jeff Allen

OQH Hall of Fame Selection Committee – Chair, Cindy Chilton-Moore – Sharon Breeding, Larry Sanchez, Wayne Halvorson, Gil Galyean, Chad Cherry, Dr. Calvin White, Darrell Bilke, Alice Holmes

– Subcommittees

Go For The Gold Futurity – Chair, Dr. Bob Story – Luke Castle, Cara McMillian-Gibson, Karen Torrice

Rope Oklahoma – Chair, Jake Walker – Jack Bogart, Jimmy Seago, Kirt Wingate

$300K – Chair, Jackie Krshka – Russell Mueller, Jake Walker, Jeff Allen, Tim Lindsey

Committee Evaluation – Chair, Russell Mueller – Dave Auberle, Tim Lindsey, Stacey Roberson